Om:cast 013 - Groove Armada

Groove Armada

Recorded live from Om Miami 2010, the legendary electronic duo of Andy Cato and Tom Findlay deliver a mix full of classic house jams.

Groove Armada “Black Light” Is Out Now! Click Here To Listen.

Visit Groove Armada’s Artist Page Here

Groove Armada first formed in the mid-1990s after they had been introduced by Cato’s girlfriend and soon started their own club, also called Groove Armada, after a ’70s discothèque.

By 1997 they had released a few singles including 4 Tune Cookie and the song that first brought them minor fame, “At the River”, which sampled “Old Cape Cod” by Patti Page, (which was featured in the film Die Hard 2). The song has gone on to be one of Groove Armada’s most well-known tracks and has since been found on numerous chill out compilations.

Their first album Northern Star was released in 1998 on Tummy Touch Records, and was followed by their second album Vertigo in 1999, which had a more mainstream and more ‘polished’ sound, thus making the British chart’s upper 20 and being certified silver in the UK. It also included “At the River” which was re-released as a full-fledged single. An album of remixed tracks from Vertigo entitled The Remixes followed in 2000, along with their contribution to the Back To Mine series.

Their next studio album Goodbye Country: Hello Nightclub was released in 2001, and as its title suggests marked a move away from chill out to more upbeat music – as demonstrated by the Grammy nominated single “Superstylin’”. Another mix album followed, this time for the Another Late Night series and in 2002, less than a year after Goodbye Country, Hello Nightclub, Groove Armada produced Lovebox, which included a variety of genres and was noticeably sassy and brought a new type of funk to Groove Armada.2 Some tracks had a rock element to them such as “Madder”, while others were closer to their traditional house, such as the title track “Lovebox”, and “Remember”, which has vocals made up entirely of samples of Sandy Denny’s singing for Fairport Convention. An additional ‘bonus’ track was later released on their website entitled ‘Fairport’.

A Greatest Hits album appeared in 2004, the last of their releases with Pepper Records, before their latest studio album Soundboy Rock, was released in 2007. The album, marked a notable departure from the multi-genre influenced previous album, featuring tracks such as “Get Down”, “Groove Extracts” which follow the current UK trend of electric hard-house with rock elements and “Song 4 Mutya (Out of Control)” featuring the vocals of ex-Sugababes singer Mutya Buena, hailed by online music guide Popjustice as one of the best songs of 2007.

Following the successful Soundboy Rock singles, an updated best-of set titled Greatest Hits was released in October 2007. This was accompanied by a GA10: 10 Year Story, a 2CD rarities collection released in November 2007 to celebrate their tenth anniversary as a band. The band have talked in-depth about the compilation of the 2 cds, and cited it as an “emotional experience”, selecting their personal favorite songs and mixes from their history.

During 2009 both Tom Findlay and Andy Cato were repeatedly confirming the existence of a pending new album. While on the Bacardi Express tour in Australia, Findlay said it will be called “Black Light and it is going to be the darker side of Groove Armada, which is finally coming out after 12 years.”. The first single released on November 23, 2009 was “I Won’t Kneel” featuring Groove Armada’s new vocalist, SaintSaviour. The album’s second single “Paper Romance” was released on February 22 2010, and the album was released in Europe on February 28.

Groove Armada “Black Light” Is Out Now! Click Here To Listen.

Visit Groove Armada’s Artist Page Here

 //  Advertise  //  Om Creative Services //  Links  //  © Om Entertainment Group 2009  //