Blog - Music

Meet San Francisco’s version of London’s Horse Meat Disco. SF’s Honey Sound System crew is a collective of gay disco heads who throw some pretty eclectic disco / house parties. The collective has just release their first compilation called “Brotherhood” which is a collection of unmixed tracks from the best in underground queer dance music from around the world. The limited CD pressing is limited to 500 copies.

Click Here to Purchase.

1. BearEssence feat. Roberta Kelly- Because of Love
2. MVSCLZ- All Big Men Come Out in the Summertime
3. Robot Hustle- Serengeti Drive
4. Filthy Luka- Missing You
5. Gay Marvine- Lost in Music
6. Discordromo- Ionio
7. Mandy Warhol- Search for the Mountain Top
8. Rodion & Hugo Sanchez- Tape Oxyde
9. Pee Play & Husband- The Duke
10. Jim Hopkins- This is Aciiiiiiiid! (Two-Track Tape)
11. Kendig- SK-1
12. Party Effects- Copacaliasexicalia
13. Matthew Mercer- Wormhole

Listen: Honey Sound System: Brotherhood

Posted by: on May 2, 2010 @ 5:48 PM
Posted in: Music

Fenech Soler are back in the UK after a small stint of dates here in the US with Groove Armada and have just dropped a new single called “Stop & Stare”.

The electro pop-rock track features remixes from disco-dance remixer, Mighty Mouse, The Resets, and more. Click here to purchase “Stop & Stare” from iTunes.

Listen: Fenech Soler “Stop & Stare”

Listen: Fenech Soler “Stop & Stare (Mighty Mouse Remix)”

Posted by: on April 29, 2010 @ 10:13 PM
Posted in: Music

Yoko Ono recently made somewhat of an underground comeback with her Plastic Ono Band. Ono’s single “Give Me Something” (which reminds me of another person favorite, Mu’s “Paris Hilton”) was remixed by the likes of Junior Boys, Dave Aude, Stonebridge, and one of my favorite deep house producers, Roberto Rodriguez. This isn’t the first time you’ve heard the track. Roberto dropped it in his Om Cast last month. The Junior Boys mix is pretty good, but gotta give it up to Roberto for holding it down for underground music / producers. It’s the sickest remix on a single full of cheese.

Listen: Ono “Give Me Something (Roberto Rodriguez Remix)”

Posted by: on April 29, 2010 @ 9:03 PM
Posted in: Music

I’ve been a fan of Trentemøller since his early Naked Music days and have loved following him through his departure away from that sound. His last album, “Last Resort” is still one of my favorite albums to date and I’m happy to see him back with a new album.

The first single, “Sycamore Feelings”, has an eerie melancholic sound somewhere in between Nancy Sinatra, Boards of Canada, and Fever Ray.

“Sycamore Feelings” is out now and features remixes from friends, Gui Boratto and Thomas Schumacher.

The new album, ’Into The Great Wide Yonder’, drops in May on his own In My Room Records.

Listen: Trentemoller “Sycamore Feelings (Trentemoller Remix)”

Posted by: on April 29, 2010 @ 8:58 PM
Posted in: Music

Some artists sometimes come up with the funniest names. These Polish friends have me scratching my head thinking WTF were they thinking when they decided to call them selves POL_ON. Despite the strange name, the production team of Kacper Bogacz and Michał Piotrowski, are putting out some dope tracks. They just dropped a single on Freerange, but it’s really this, “Molala” track on Pets Recordings (Catz&Dogz label) from last month, that I can’t get out of my head.

Good stuff!

Click here to buy from

Listen: POL_ON “Molala”

Posted by: on April 28, 2010 @ 9:30 PM
Posted in: Music

Filmed by Yours Truly, the new video from The Morning Benders is doing the trick for me on this slow starting Monday Morning.

Yours Truly Presents: The Morning Benders “Excuses” from Yours Truly on Vimeo.

Posted by: Jonthecorner on April 26, 2010 @ 11:38 AM
Posted in: Music

It’s nice to open up your computer to a new M.I.A. song, especially one that brings her in an entirely new musical direction. Filled with heavy doses of punk rock, Born Free is expressing is raw emotions through her potent lyrics. Check out the brand new 8 minute music video after the jump.

Click here to watch the music video.

Posted by: Jonthecorner on April 26, 2010 @ 10:34 AM
Posted in: Music

Vtech just hipped me to a new DJ Nuts mix dedicated to the works of Brazilian artist and producer Arthur Verocai. Known to be one of the most prolific artists in recent Brazilian history, DJ Nuts compiles and mixes his favorite Verocai tunes digging deep in the catalogue working directing with Verocai himself. DJ Nuts is an astute and rigorous historian of Brasil’s vast and varied musical culture. His record collection is legendary; his skills as a DJ are world class. For such a mix to be made, only a true Brasilian music aficionado could have created this, and Vtech is honored to be able to share it with you.

Click here to visit the Vtech Site to stream and download the mix.

Posted by: Jonthecorner on April 23, 2010 @ 10:18 AM
Posted in: Music

Rocket Empire and Sinning in LA got together for a little Q & A last week speaking about the new album and reinvigorating the downtempo music genre. They’re also giving away 5 signed copies of the album for those who email what they love about the story.

Sinning in LA:
We’ve always loved all the fresh sounds that have come out on OM Records. It has long been one of the best labels in America when it comes to delivering forward-thinking and genre-defying electronic and hip-hop music. While many would associate the label with their stable of house music legends, such as Marques Wyatt, Kaskade, Mark Farina and Andy Caldwell, they have also showcased some of the best in downtempo beats as well, especially with their legendary OM Lounge series. This was how I came to discover the sounds of Rocket Empire, where producer Dave Dish has reinvented himself after starting his career as a house music producer for the label and delivered an album that should find plenty of late night favor this year.

Click here to continue reading.

Posted by: Jonthecorner on April 22, 2010 @ 3:15 PM
Posted in: Music

We are happy to officially welcome Crazy P’s Hot Toddy to the Om family. We’re gearing up to drop his solo album on the newly formed Smoke n Mirrors imprint.

The first single from the album is called “Down to Love” featuring Jennifer Rhonwen. On remix duty, deep funky house producer Fred Everything and nu-disco artist, Shiney Objects.

Click Here to Purchase From Juno The worldwide release date is May 25th.

Listen: Hot Toddy “Down To Love (Fred Everything Remix)”

Posted by: on April 20, 2010 @ 12:41 PM
Posted in: Music
 //  Advertise  //  Om Creative Services //  Links  //  © Om Entertainment Group 2009  //